Yes. It is legal to smoke medical cannabis or recreational cannabis if you are eligible to consume cannabis in Maine. The Maine Medical Marijuana Act and the state's recreational cannabis laws provide for cannabis smoking.
It is illegal to smoke weed in public places, including ski resorts, amusement parks, campsites, sidewalks, roads, bars, cannabis retail stores, music venues, playgrounds, restaurants, outdoor cafes, and rooftop cafes. If you are caught smoking weed in a public location, you may be fined up to $100.
No. Smoking weed in a vehicle, even if parked, is prohibited in Maine. Note that persons caught driving while under the influence of cannabis face severe penalties. If you are traveling with marijuana within Maine, ensure to keep the substance locked in a container in the vehicle’s trunk.
You must be 21 years or older to smoke weed recreationally in Maine. Patients registered under the state’s medical use of marijuana program must be 18 or older to smoke medical cannabis legally.
Weed may only be smoked on private property. Although weed cafes and consumption lounges are popping up in other states, Maine has yet to approve the operation of such establishments. Note that Maine cannabis laws allow property owners, landlords, and home and apartment rental agencies to contractually prohibit weed smoking on their leased or rented premises. It is illegal to smoke weed on federal property, including national parks, forests, and federal courtrooms.