Possession of marijuana is legal in Maine for recreational and medical uses. In November 2016, Maine voters approved “Question 1” to legalize the recreational use of marijuana in the state. The Maine Marijuana Legalization Act was subsequently enacted to permit the cultivation and personal use of cannabis. The Act allows adults aged 21 and above to possess up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of marijuana, including no more than 0.2 ounces (5 grams) of marijuana concentrate for personal use.
Before the legalization of marijuana for personal use, the state had enacted the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Act in 1999. The medical marijuana law allowed licensed patients with qualifying medical conditions to use marijuana to treat or alleviate certain medical conditions. The Maine Medical Marijuana program is administered by the Maine Department of Health and Human Services (DPHHS). Qualifying medical conditions include cancer, glaucoma, Crohn’s disease, Alzheimer's disease, chronic pain, seizures, and cachexia.
Marijuana possession is legal in Maine, provided it is not more than 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of marijuana, including not more than 0.2 ounces (5 grams) of marijuana concentrate for recreational purposes. Factors that determine penalties for violating marijuana laws in Maine include:
In Maine, marijuana is classified as a Schedule Z drug and can be used in limited amounts by adults aged 21 and above. However, first-time minor offenders face the following penalties:
Recreational weed can be gotten from licensed adult-use cannabis stores by persons aged 21 years and above. Adult-use cannabis stores in Maine can only sell recreational weed to adults. They must verify the ages of buyers before they can sell to them.
The Office of Cannabis Policy maintains a list and map of active medical marijuana dispensaries in the state. Medical marijuana patients can buy marijuana from registered marijuana dispensaries with their medical marijuana registry identification cards. They can buy up to 14 days’ worth of their marijuana prescription.
Per the Maine Marijuana Legalization Act, you must be 21 years or older to buy weed in Maine. You must also be 21 years or older to consume and smoke marijuana in the state. However, medical marijuana patients under 21 years can buy medical marijuana provided they have valid and current medical marijuana registry identification cards.
Per the Maine Marijuana Legalization Act, adults aged 21 years and above can possess up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of marijuana products and marijuana concentrate, provided the marijuana concentrate is no more than 5 grams (0.2 ounces).
Medical marijuana patients and their caregivers are also limited to possession of 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of marijuana. However, the Medical Use of Marijuana Act allows patients to possess more than the stipulated limits, provided they can justify their need for them and show proof of physicians’ recommendation.
Minors (under 21 years) are prohibited from possessing marijuana except if they are registered as medical marijuana patients.
If the minor does not commit another marijuana possession violation within 12 months after the initial conviction, the court may expunge the record from the minor’s criminal record. On the other hand, if the minor commits another marijuana possession violation within a 12-month period, the court may impose a fine of at least $600.
Furthermore, minors can be arrested for possessing marijuana paraphernalia such as pipes, bongs, vaporizers, or grinders. Possession of marijuana paraphernalia carries the same penalties as possession of marijuana for minors.
A court may place a minor on probation or assign community service in addition to or as an alternative to the prescribed fines. Minors convicted of marijuana possession may be denied financial aid for college tuition and may lose their driver's licenses.
Adults aged 21 and above may cultivate not more than three mature, flowering marijuana plants, 12 immature plants, and an unlimited number of seedlings in a house. They may possess all the marijuana produced by the plants.
Marijuana is classified as a Schedule I substance with a high tendency for abuse and is illegal at the federal level. It is illegal to leave Maine with marijuana or marijuana products. Therefore, flying with marijuana from Maine to another state is unlawful. Airports in Maine prohibit marijuana on their premises.
No, it is not illegal for an adult to be high in public in Maine. However, driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in Maine. The Maine Bureau of Highway Safety considers marijuana’s high effect as a distraction capable of inhibiting a driver’s decision and judgment.
An adult driving under the influence of marijuana may be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). A law enforcement officer may subject a driver to a drug test if there is probable cause that the driver has operated a vehicle while impaired. Turning away from a roadblock is a potential cause for administering a drug test in Maine.